Here are 13 tips for staying safe on Twitter

0

Twitter makes it possible to engage with anyone in the world, but it has also become a dangerous place filled with harassment and abuse. It can involve anything from threats and spam to account takeovers and worse. Here are some of the features that can help you feel safer while participating in the conversation on the microblogging service.

Two-factor authentication (2FA)

Two-factor authentication is all about adding an extra layer of security to your account. When you enable this feature, you will need to provide an additional security code or key, along with your password, when logging in to ensure that only you can access your account.
Steps to enable two-factor authentication:

#In the side menu of your profile, click More, then Settings and privacy.

#Click Security and Account Access, then click Security.

#Click on Two-Factor Authentication and choose from three authentication methods: SMS, App Authenticator, or Security Key.

Enable password reset protection

If you enable password reset protection, Twitter will ask you to confirm your email address or phone number if you ever decide to reset your password. Use a strong password that you won’t use on other websites. This feature is handy if your account is hacked, the hacker won’t be able to stop you from accessing your account. Here’s how to enable password reset protection.

#Go to Settings and Privacy

#Choose Security and account access and activate it

Beware of suspicious messages

Twitter will never ask you to sign in to a non-Twitter website, provide your password via email, direct message, reply, or download anything. Never open an attachment or install software from an email claiming to be from Twitter; it’s not. Above all, do not disclose your username and password to third parties and always make sure that you are on the official website before entering your login details.

Protected tweets

In an effort to reduce the burden on people facing unwanted interactions, Twitter has rolled out Protected Tweets. You can choose to protect your tweets so that only your followers can see and interact with them.
To protect your tweets:

#In the side menu of your profile, click on More, then on Settings and privacy

#Click on Privacy and security, then Audience and tagging

#Check the box next to Protect your Tweets

#At any time, you can unprotect your Tweets by following the same steps

Location sharing

Twitter allows you to include your location on individual tweets and on your profile. To be on the safe side, you should avoid sharing information that could identify your home or work address, or where your children go to school. To change your location settings:

#Go to Settings and privacy in your profile menu, then click on Privacy and security

#Under Data sharing and non-Twitter activity, go to Location information

#Click on Add location information to your tweets

#If the box is checked, it means your location information attached to your Tweets is enabled. To disable Tweet location, uncheck the box.

Disable photo tagging

To minimize sharing your name with the public, you can turn off a feature that allows anyone to tag you in a photo or limit tagging to only those you follow. It can be found in:

#Go to Settings and Privacy

#Click Privacy and Security

#Now go to Audience and tagging and disable photo tagging.

No longer follow

If you are no longer interested in tweets from a certain account, or feel bothered by them, you can simply unsubscribe. To unfollow an account:

#Open their profile.

#At the top right you will see the “Follow” button. When you place your pointer over it, it prompts you to “Unfollow”. Click on the button.

Delete subscribers

If you don’t want a certain account to follow you, you can simply remove it from your follower list without blocking it. To delete a subscriber

#Access your followers list

#Click the three-dot icon next to the “Follow” button next to the account you want to remove

#From the menu, click on ‘Delete this subscriber’, and confirm by clicking again on ‘Delete’.

Stop useless DMs

Direct Messages (DM) settings let you filter spam and limit messages from people you don’t follow.

If the setting is off, you’ll only receive messages from people you follow. You can also toggle the quality filter to exclude low quality or potentially spammy DMs.

Hide answers

Hide Replies features allow you to control who gets visibility in your conversations. If you think a reply is spam and harming the conversation, you can click on the reply and hide it. It should be noted that the answers are not deleted but placed behind an additional click. Although everyone can see the Tweet and the conversation, depending on your configuration, not everyone will be able to reply.

Mute

Twitter allows you to restrict Tweets from certain accounts without following or blocking them by disabling those accounts. You can still follow these accounts, but you won’t see their Tweets on your timeline. You also use Advanced Mute to mute particular words, conversations, phrases, usernames, emojis or hashtags. Here’s how to deactivate an account:

#Open their profile and click on the three dots icon at the top right.

#From the menu, click ‘Mute @username’. Confirm by clicking “Mute” again.

To block

You can also choose to restrict certain accounts by blocking them. Accounts you have blocked will not be able to contact you, view your Tweets and/or follow you. To block an account:

# Open their profile and click on the three dots icon on the top right.

# In the menu, click on ‘Block @username’. Confirm by clicking “Block” again.

Reporting

If an account is bothering you with unwanted content or spam, you can choose to report it. Reported profiles will be monitored by the Twitter team on a recurring basis. Here’s how to report an account:
# Open their profile (account you want to report) and click on the three dots icon on the top right.

# In the menu, click ‘Report @username’.

#The page will then lead you to identify a problem under seven different headings, choose the one that clearly indicates the one that concerns you and validate.

Share.

About Author

Comments are closed.